Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Careerbuilder.com Phishing Attempt -- Keep an eye on your Inbox!

It looks like phishers are trying every angle they can! This is a new one that I haven't seen before. This morning I got an email that appeared at first to be from Careerbuilder.com's Billing Department asking me to complete an online Confirmation Form.

It looked like this:

So, these are not especially GOOD phishers, as you can see. First off, sending it from the Billing Department was probably supposed to help create some kind of urgency, or panic, or who knows what, but for me it, raised the red flag immedately because I am not paying Careerbuilder anything, nor do I ever plan to.  :)

Then as you can see, as I hover over the LINK they want me to click, you can see that the address does not match the text of the link, and that it will actually take me to "myhaae.net" instead of careerbuilder.com. Outlook was also nice enough to take note of this discrepancy, and BLOCK the URL so again...this was a failed attempt.

But I am posting about this not because it's a specific threat, but again, to help you be aware that you need to keep an eye on your inbox. Take the extra couple of seconds to scrutinize any emails that appear to be asking you for information....especially when they aren't calling you BY NAME in the email.

Not all threats can be stopped by even the best software out there. Some have to be stopped by you thinking clearly and being a little suspicious about any attempts to collect your information or passwords.

Thanks for being a part of The Project!  Be safe online!

 


Posted at 9:33 AM on Wednesday, May 16, 2007




<- Last Page | Next Page ->